

**MEDIA RELEASE 5th November 2017** 

## Ladbrokes

## **Crash Banicoot dominant Win in the Group 1 Ladbrokes Vic Peters Classic**

## By GRNSW Website

Crash Bandicoot made it a happy homecoming for former NSW trainer Anthony Azzopardi after the greyhound took out the Group 1 Ladbrokes Vic Peters Classic at Wentworth Park on Saturday night.

Starting from box six, Crash Bandicoot (\$8) found himself in the back-half of the field around the first turn after he could not match the early speed of early leaders Allonsy Grace and Shallay Pallay.



But the greyhound stuck to his task and took advantage of the leaders tiring, railing beautifully at the top of the home straight to run away for a two-and-a-quarter length win in 30.21.

The win took Crash Bandicoot's record to 11 wins from 26 starts and the greyhound now recorded almost \$110,000 in prizemoney.

(Crush Bandicoot winning at the Meadows Pic Paul Munt)

Chasin' Crackers (\$3.70) made good ground late to finish second, while Allonsy Grace was gallant in holding on for third.

The tiring Shallay Pallay (\$4.60) finished fourth but was also handed a 28 day suspension for marring after appearing to turn his head in the home straight.

The race favourite, Bekin Street (\$2.80) never overcame a poor start from box one and finished in seventh.

Apart from the \$75,000 winner's cheque, Crash Bandicoot's win also means the greyhound has now got an exemption for the Melbourne Cup heats which begin later this month.

Continued Page 2...

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4<sup>th</sup> Shalley Palley (\$4.60), 5<sup>th</sup> Rostered On (\$15), 6<sup>th</sup> Surfing Dyno (\$41) 7<sup>th</sup> Bekim Street (\$2.80) and Only Want Mum (\$26).

Crush Bandicoot is raced by Hayley Moffitt and trained by Anthony Azzopardi of Baccursh Marsh in Victoria. Crush Bandicoot is a Black Dog whelped July 2015 by Collision from J's Robin (Lonesome Cry x Boy Trouble). He has won 11 of his 26 starts and has been placed on seven ccasions and with the \$75,000 first prize for the Vic Peters Classic it took his current stake earnings to \$109,200.

## **Honour Roll**

The Vic Peters Classic is the oldest feature event on the NSW GBOTA's Calendar, this traditional classic, age restricted event (open to greyhounds whelped between July 1 and June 30) was first conducted in 1951 and known as the 'Annual Classic'. It was re-named the Vic Peter's Memorial Classic in 1962 – in honour of and on the passing of Vic Peters, the first Secretary of the Association (1939 to 1961). The word 'memorial' was dropped from the race's title in 2001. The Classic has been won by the likes of Black Top, Shapely Escort, Sammie Sparrow, Woolley Wilson, Tegimi, Alpha Brava, Brother Fox, Worth Doing, Go Wild Teddy, Collision, Cromlah Bale and Spring Gun.

	WINNER	TIME	YEAR	WINNER	TIME	YEAR	WINNER	TIME
YEAR								
1951	SHARID	26.80	1973	KIM'S MONARO	26.31	1995	PLACID BOY	30.55
1952	ΗΑΡΡΥ ΚΑΥ	27.10	1974	CELL BLOCK	26.59	1996	TRICKY WIND	30.54
1953	COLA MINDA	26.80	1975	ALPHA BRAVA	26.22	1997	BOBNIAK	30.25
1954	DASHER'S BOW	27.00	1976	BLACK DERBY	26.65	1998	BIGBAD LUTHER	30.20
1955	KNIGHT RULER	27.20	1977	ROCKET MONARO	26.53	1999	FLASH JOAN	30.43
1956	SMOOTH EVENT	27.05	1978	TEGIMI (VIC)	26.35	2000	GO WILD TEDDY	30.27
1957	CANTEE	26.93	1979	SCOTT OF MINMI	26.71	2001	TOLL SECURITY	30.16
1958	MONTANA J ET	27.04	1980	BAVARIAN AZTEC	26.43	2002	LONG STITCH	30.65
1959	FESTIVAL TIME	26.91	1981	GLEEFULLEE	26.44	2003	COLLISION	29.73
1960	PINE TOP	26.89	1982	KING SEAGULL	26.37	2004	CHEEKY RENEGADE	30.46
1961	ROCKET MAC	27.10	1983	INCH TIME	26.27	2005	WATCH THE WEB	30.12
1962	BLACK TOP	26.40	1984	BROTHER FOX	25.82	2006	CROMLAH BALE	30.14
1963	SERAPHINO & TEST	26.80	1985	DAISY DOLL	26.42	2007	ASHBY BALE	30.12
	PATTERN (DH)							
1964	BONGEARON	26.80	1986	SPANISH DANCE	26.54	2008	NITRO BURST	29.89
1965	DAILY TIDE	26.60	1987	ALICE IRENE	30.61	2009	DANCING SURF	30.13
1966	AFRICAN BALLET	26.80	1988	WORTH DOING	29.74	2010	ISADOLL	29.93
1967	MR SPOT	26.60	1989	ALYSSA BELLE	30.30	2011	SPRING GUN	29.75
1968	SAMMIE SPARROW	26.80	1990	MCVELLA	30.65	2012	PROVEN NITRO	29.96
1969	MILLIMSIMBI	26.50	1991	ALASTIC REBEL	30.10	2013	BELFAST JOHNNY	29.63
1970	SHAPELY ESCORT	26.70	1992	SPARKLING SPIRIT	30.78	2014	LUCY LOBSTER	29.85
1971	REAL WORDS (VIC)	26.40	1993	LEON MAL	30.55	2015	ZAMBORA BROCKIE	29.58
1972	WOOLLEY WILSON	26.70	1994	BARNEY BLUE	30.96	2016	ANDO'S MAC	29.69
2017	CRASH BANDICOOT	30.21						

For more information contact: Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

David Simonette GCA Executive Officer simonette7862@gmail.com